The test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in the mind at the same time, and still retain the ability to function. – F. Scott Fitzgerald

I’ve quoted this a few times. Great quote. But today, I saw a new dimension of this quote. Lately, I’ve been conscientiously juggling the past and future and trying to translate them appropriately into an action of the present. Extremely hard work. Never in my life was there such a need to do this so regularly and extensively. It’s quite horrid.

Can I function? Depends on what you mean by ‘function’. I am rather mentally tormented as expected but I never mess up things which are outside of this. Also, please help yourself to the previous post in which I delineate the impossibility of ascertaining the answer to that question. But alas, there is nothing much to blame— only myself. Regardless of whether there is a need to do what the above paragraph describes, I always end up doing it. Certain behaviours of mine seem to be rooted deep within my blueprint.

We shall see.

