I like to buy weird food by myself, especially household items that is to be bought by one’s mom and shared by the family. I buy them to hoard them for myself. E.g., bread, jam, biscuits in bulk whatever. Because they don’t buy my favourite brand or favour etc or the food is forbidden etc. And so I bought some cheese slices which I’d planned to eat them like slices of bread.

But after a while, it got too salty and so I ditched it in the fridge for sometime before I’ve decided to do something with it today. And to do something like that before I get too old to fit into the cliche of taking food shots.

DSC04922

I placed it in the oven toaster and made melted cheese and……. biscuits at the bottom! Zooland!

Against the background of my messy table.

DSC04924

A close-up

DSC04926

They’ve got a new packaging. Prefer the old one but I guess this one sells better.

It was fun to join the dots. (I guess that the word that my hand was covering is ‘monkey’ and ‘horse’.) I didn’t do it for the camera. Did it last night when I first opened it to eat. If you know me, you’ll know that I take forever to finish a pack of biscuits or chips or whatever. I eat 2 or 3 at a time and put them into a ziploc bag.

I was fun to analyse Japanese-English semantics– or rather, sales and marketing strategies. ‘Match animal with favourite food’ sounds vaguely ungrammatically appealing– almost like a sub-language itself. I can almost hear someone (a female) with that cliche saccharine voice and ugh, that same face. Okay, nevermind.

And I was analysing how animals/plants featured here that are not found in Japan resemble the english language when  pronounced. Of course, it is very obvious to Japanese language learners (no I don’t learn it) since I think it is actually a form of sub-language or what-you-call-it. Or well, it might not be true. But yeah, it was fun.

And I started imagining from this list a place with nuts, bamboo, hay, squirrels, horses, monkeys— without panda, koalas, bananas and eucalyptus leaves.

Yes, I do think a lot.

