Me: Why didn’t you lie?
Me: Because the only lies I could concoct up were out of my character.

Me: Which means that at any circumstances where it is appropriate to lie and you could lie in character, you would?
Me: Definitely, as the statement suggested. I do not want others to determine my character incorrectly due to the lie.

Me: Would you get upset if your lies did not resolve the issue?

Me: Of course. Because before I get around to lying, I fully consider that the lies I’m making do not cross the person nor the society’s boundaries and that the lies do not create a negative reputation to any individual persons i.e., not a named bus driver). Ultimately, it has to fulfill the criteria that if the lie were real (for example, I was late because the bus came late and I’d actually waited for it at the usual time), it is acceptable and is justifiable in society’s context. In this case, if the person I’m lying to is still angry with me (provided that s/he believed in my lie and I did not have a history of being late and this is the first or second time), it means that s/he is an unreasonable person, getting angry at a circumstance which I could not have controlled or chose. So ultimately, it proved to me the kind of person s/he was.

Me: What reason would you give to justify the act of lying?

Me: I lie for a single reason. I will lie if providing an alternate reason to something will give the other party and myself more benefits. If lying can do away with the unpleasantness brought about by the truth, or at least improve upon it, I will lie. I judge morality by the consequence caused. Morality alone is subjective.

