I’m embarking on a Write Club Project over there on http://writeclub.springnote.com which someone from #intj created. Really cool. Both ‘Bodily Phenomenon’ and ‘On The Art of Forgetting’ are posted there.

When I was younger, I used to sprint long stretches on the threadmill at home with socks and shoes off. My objective was exactly to develop blisters of worthy-enough sizes which I could then harvest the skin with a nail clipper after a new layer has emerged underneath a couple of days later.

The product of it, a leathery, partially moist patch of whitish rubber-like material, made me feel good, in way that it made me feel uncomfortable. I felt uncertain holding the patch of material that has just molted from my body. I regarded it in a suspicious way, the way I think a butterfly will not actually do to its chrysalis. I kept the first one in a battered namecard holder which I passed on to myself after I found it lying around in the home office with its newer cousin lying proudly beside it. It would probably hit the bin and reside among apple cores and the cliche sort of trash with the not-so-cliche moth-eaten underwear found behind the unused wardrobe that afternoon.

I figured that its figurative company would suit my disowned toe skin moderately well. I would observe it when I remember to, which is often.  And marveled at how alive something my body has disowned felt. I feel life in it.

I thought about amputated arms, amputated legs, of quadriplegics, of the careless pool of hair lying on the floor after a great massacre at the hairdresser’s, orphans, brain-dead patients, ingrown nails, expelled Yakuza mafias and their severed pinkies, liposuction, phantom pain, siamese twins and the girl with seven fingers who thought of hitting the operation table.

For the subsequent specimens, I gradually took them apart straight upon harvesting, peeling individual strands off the molt, the ridges of the toeprint as a guide. I felt my heartbeat traveling to my fingertips, throbbing.

It was sadly exhilirating, the job of a second-rate surgeon.

