Of book covers and personality, science fictions and books

The modern day is the ideal kind of science fiction written in the 17th century.

I hate the human kind. When I have mood to talk about it, I’ll back you up with hoards of examples, but you, I’m sure, already know.

Life has been going on flat for a long time. No bout of feelings at all. Actually, not that I want to have them back (if there were in the first place).

I’m reading The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood now. She’s so great, So Great.

Yesterday night, I finished a book “This is what I did:” by Ann Dee Ellis. To speak the truth, I could not have resisted the book cover. The whole thing is like green and in the middle there’s a (white) silhouette of a guy with a cap and a speech bubble coming out from it. Minimalism. Great.

Even though I don’t usually read that kinda books. (and I didn’t know it was young people’s fiction anyway) http://www.teenreads.com/reviews/0316013633.asp could check it out here. This book made me depressed, especially at that time in the night. I learnt something from Ann Dee Ellis– never end the story like you never intended to conclude it. I don’t know what happened to Logan, to Zyler– I guess that left me wierd out and plus the depressing story– I started crying.

Covers suggest something about the author’s character (even though most of the times, its not for writers to choose the cover. But they could object to a cover being chosen for their books anyway). I don’t know if I would like Magaret Atwood in real life. (Judging by the covers).

They always say “don’t judge a book by its covers” (stupid cliche) but covers are like clothes, and clothes tell loads about your character. I remember Malcom Gladwell quoted a study in his book “Blink” where 20 university students are called together in a group. Another 5 volunteered (made sure that none of these 20 students know them as either acquaintances or friends) their rooms. These 20 students are given a ‘character checklist’ when they go into the 5 rooms. They’re supposed to say something of their characters judging from their rooms. And it turns out that they got 80% of it right.

Malcom also gave an example of how meeting a person for a night to know his character is much less ‘productive’ and ‘accurate’ than looking at their rooms and their things.

Its an unguarded individual out there when you look at their rooms. In actual face-to-face encounters, there’s a whole lot of additional factors, including ones like personal bias. I for one, would react differently to different people. You can’t read me just by knowing how I am with you.

Damn, how I digressed.

2 comments

Do you want to comment?

Comments RSS and TrackBack URI

  1. lawlleepawp

    I wanted to read that book, but I lost it.
    I am the only person I know who can lose entire books.
    It will probably turn up on about a year or so…

    Interestingly enough, I have always wondered whether or not the Zt I talk to is the actual Zt. Your personality changes, and it’s CORNFUSING. =P

    March 19, 2008 00:58
  2. lawlleepawp

    Shit.
    *in about a year or so…

    March 19, 2008 01:02

Leave a Reply

Of book covers and personality, science fictions and books

The modern day is the ideal kind of science fiction written in the 17th century.

I hate the human kind. When I have mood to talk about it, I’ll back you up with hoards of examples, but you, I’m sure, already know.

Life has been going on flat for a long time. No bout of feelings at all. Actually, not that I want to have them back (if there were in the first place).

I’m reading The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood now. She’s so great, So Great.

Yesterday night, I finished a book “This is what I did:” by Ann Dee Ellis. To speak the truth, I could not have resisted the book cover. The whole thing is like green and in the middle there’s a (white) silhouette of a guy with a cap and a speech bubble coming out from it. Minimalism. Great.

Even though I don’t usually read that kinda books. (and I didn’t know it was young people’s fiction anyway) http://www.teenreads.com/reviews/0316013633.asp could check it out here. This book made me depressed, especially at that time in the night. I learnt something from Ann Dee Ellis– never end the story like you never intended to conclude it. I don’t know what happened to Logan, to Zyler– I guess that left me wierd out and plus the depressing story– I started crying.

Covers suggest something about the author’s character (even though most of the times, its not for writers to choose the cover. But they could object to a cover being chosen for their books anyway). I don’t know if I would like Magaret Atwood in real life. (Judging by the covers).

They always say “don’t judge a book by its covers” (stupid cliche) but covers are like clothes, and clothes tell loads about your character. I remember Malcom Gladwell quoted a study in his book “Blink” where 20 university students are called together in a group. Another 5 volunteered (made sure that none of these 20 students know them as either acquaintances or friends) their rooms. These 20 students are given a ‘character checklist’ when they go into the 5 rooms. They’re supposed to say something of their characters judging from their rooms. And it turns out that they got 80% of it right.

Malcom also gave an example of how meeting a person for a night to know his character is much less ‘productive’ and ‘accurate’ than looking at their rooms and their things.

Its an unguarded individual out there when you look at their rooms. In actual face-to-face encounters, there’s a whole lot of additional factors, including ones like personal bias. I for one, would react differently to different people. You can’t read me just by knowing how I am with you.

Damn, how I digressed.

2 comments

Do you want to comment?

Comments RSS and TrackBack URI

  1. lawlleepawp

    I wanted to read that book, but I lost it.
    I am the only person I know who can lose entire books.
    It will probably turn up on about a year or so…

    Interestingly enough, I have always wondered whether or not the Zt I talk to is the actual Zt. Your personality changes, and it’s CORNFUSING. =P

    March 19, 2008 00:58
  2. lawlleepawp

    Shit.
    *in about a year or so…

    March 19, 2008 01:02

Leave a Reply

