Oryx and Crake

Finished Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood at around 2am yesterday and no, its definitely not a late night book (not for the normal folk). It spun me thinking for a length of time, to which when I fell asleep at god-knows-what hour as it continued its invasion into my dreams.

I don’t know about you, but I never ever read a book recommended by someone– that is to say, TomDickHarry says, this-book-is-totally-awesome-have-you-read-it-no-I-haven’t-oh-you-totally-should-check-it-out-oh-it-sounds-good-I-shall-of-course. And then.. I’ll leave TomDickHarry, forgetting all about That Book.

No, call me lazy instead, I bet That was a good Book.

But TODAY, the hypocrite’s telling you– YOU TOTALLY SHOULD READ IT!

Especially if you have pro-apocalypse tendencies like me, and revel in the details of the human demise. And no, its not gory, not sadistic.

Please read it.

After reading it, I wonder if humans were created the same way by another similar civilisation before it that got wiped out the same way and we are the ‘Crakers’ they had in mind.

And one bonus is that Margaret Atwood used the name ‘Jimmy’ and the name is a favorite of mine when I write short stories (you should know). She’s a ‘name person’ too, in the Acknowledgments, she thanked an Australian couple for their balcony on a day in March 2002 where she saw ‘the red-necked Crake’.

Its a strange book, because I ended up not liking (no, emotionally-binding myself to any of the characters. I liked Crake until I got the whiff that he’s making use of Jimmy for his ‘project’. And I never really took to Jimmy maybe because he was too Alike me. We’re almost identical.

I’ll post the summary tomorrow or someday else– because I know you guys wouldn’t scroll down. Alternatively, if you’re BURNING to read it (which I think not), you could go to wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oryx_and_Crake

If you want to see me smile, please read it.

Or maybe a hug when you finish. Pleeeeeeease.

Or better if you had read it. Tell me so!

3 comments

Do you want to comment?

Comments RSS and TrackBack URI

  1. J Alan

    Sounds like an interesting book after reading wikipedia…….
    perhaps our society is in fact already very much like the scenario seemingly in the book as far as we are far, far away being a Utopian society.

    Intersting you connect with Jimmy……

    Oftentimes I’ve felt you wish the world is not what it is, something totally alien to what it is. I myself often tend to think the same.

    I’ll be sure to read the book.

    March 2, 2008 13:16
  2. someone

    hi! jus droppin by bah, i tink x)

    March 3, 2008 11:46
  3. hey alan, hey yj 🙂

    Hm, as a matter of fact, the Crakers’ world, to me, is a Utopia without Jimmy/Snowman in it.

    I connect to Jimmy, not Jimmy in the plot, but Jimmy overall, as a character, psychologically, the same sense of a ‘wasted person’.

    March 3, 2008 12:01

Leave a Reply

Oryx and Crake

Finished Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood at around 2am yesterday and no, its definitely not a late night book (not for the normal folk). It spun me thinking for a length of time, to which when I fell asleep at god-knows-what hour as it continued its invasion into my dreams.

I don’t know about you, but I never ever read a book recommended by someone– that is to say, TomDickHarry says, this-book-is-totally-awesome-have-you-read-it-no-I-haven’t-oh-you-totally-should-check-it-out-oh-it-sounds-good-I-shall-of-course. And then.. I’ll leave TomDickHarry, forgetting all about That Book.

No, call me lazy instead, I bet That was a good Book.

But TODAY, the hypocrite’s telling you– YOU TOTALLY SHOULD READ IT!

Especially if you have pro-apocalypse tendencies like me, and revel in the details of the human demise. And no, its not gory, not sadistic.

Please read it.

After reading it, I wonder if humans were created the same way by another similar civilisation before it that got wiped out the same way and we are the ‘Crakers’ they had in mind.

And one bonus is that Margaret Atwood used the name ‘Jimmy’ and the name is a favorite of mine when I write short stories (you should know). She’s a ‘name person’ too, in the Acknowledgments, she thanked an Australian couple for their balcony on a day in March 2002 where she saw ‘the red-necked Crake’.

Its a strange book, because I ended up not liking (no, emotionally-binding myself to any of the characters. I liked Crake until I got the whiff that he’s making use of Jimmy for his ‘project’. And I never really took to Jimmy maybe because he was too Alike me. We’re almost identical.

I’ll post the summary tomorrow or someday else– because I know you guys wouldn’t scroll down. Alternatively, if you’re BURNING to read it (which I think not), you could go to wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oryx_and_Crake

If you want to see me smile, please read it.

Or maybe a hug when you finish. Pleeeeeeease.

Or better if you had read it. Tell me so!

3 comments

Do you want to comment?

Comments RSS and TrackBack URI

  1. J Alan

    Sounds like an interesting book after reading wikipedia…….
    perhaps our society is in fact already very much like the scenario seemingly in the book as far as we are far, far away being a Utopian society.

    Intersting you connect with Jimmy……

    Oftentimes I’ve felt you wish the world is not what it is, something totally alien to what it is. I myself often tend to think the same.

    I’ll be sure to read the book.

    March 2, 2008 13:16
  2. someone

    hi! jus droppin by bah, i tink x)

    March 3, 2008 11:46
  3. hey alan, hey yj 🙂

    Hm, as a matter of fact, the Crakers’ world, to me, is a Utopia without Jimmy/Snowman in it.

    I connect to Jimmy, not Jimmy in the plot, but Jimmy overall, as a character, psychologically, the same sense of a ‘wasted person’.

    March 3, 2008 12:01

Leave a Reply

