The rest of my play is out!

Act 2 Scene 1 (Jane and Hattie’s apartment)

All the time she’s looking at the mirror

JANE

I look at you and ask myself, should you cry, cos you see, if you cry, for some reasons, I cry too. Now, you know I can’t, I’m not supposed to, plays, plays, them weird things, you’re supposed to tear at them but playwrights are to pull a poker and stand, yea stand straight up! Like a Tree! A tree without blooms, flowers are wicked things, they kill, the greens, the soil, the seeds. Poison the wind, the rays, the bees. Yet a single dropeth of nature’s dew could tear at their fancies, soil their dresses. Aha! Mmphm!( Reveling in self-delight for a few moments, pre-occupied) 

HATTIE (arranging flowers)

Red are roses

Blue are violets

Sweet are daisies

Oh are you? 

JANE (still at the mirror)  Ah, I see, you wanna be the one? Be the one who wipes off that smirk on your face, the one to chase off the party wisps in that cranium? Ah, but you know, I look at you and ask myself, should you laugh, cos you see, if you laugh, for some reasons, I laugh too. No, not contagious, you see, I resist all but temptation. But somehow, somehow, you just seem to get into me, you know, that I can’t seem to succumb to that force.  

HATTIE

Flowers, ah, the Beautiful! Com’ere lil’ Rose, oh, how sweet your tresses are.  

JANE

Ah! Your eyes, how they seem to bore into mine, the more I look, the more I think that you look, look—like someone. But I always look at you and ask myself, should you look like me, what they call, err, clone? Is that it? Ah, cos you see, if you look like me, for some reasons—for some reasons…No? Must I look like you? Must I look like you?! Must I? Ah I see you, parting your mouth, mouth of daisies, shut them, shut! I say shut! How much they kill! Seeths. I shall lift you, yea, lift you up by the roots are slam! (Seizes mirror and threatens to throw) 

HATTIE

The Picture of Dorian Gray. Ah, not a very nice one for an afternoon like this. *Shivers* I say, Jane, have you ever seen Dorian Gray in the pictures? (saw Jane)Oh dear Violet, oh, ha-haa, you must have really looked like him when he pierced his aged portrait. The way you killed your own reflection. Haw-haw-haw! 

Act 2 Scene 2

 JANE

Dorian Gray, Dorian Gray, Dorian Gray. Violet! I say, Hattie, you have a violet to spare? 

HATTIE

Sure, why not? Blue ones? 

JANE

Daisie? 

HATTIE

Sweet ones? 

JANE

Rose? 

HATTIE

 Red ones? 

JANE

Me?

 HATTIE

In the mirror? 

JANE

No! (Shrieks in pain, hides her face) 

HATTIE

Ah, Dorian, I said you should always have made it to the Broadway. Look at you, look at you, just like a dorian. 

JANE (to the mirror)

There, there, easy does it. You’ve always wanted to destroy yourself don’t you? But I look at you and ask myself, should you die, cos if you do, for some reasons, for some reasons, yes, I might die too. There’s just weird things that I’ll follow or you’ll follow when we’re together, eye-to-eye. Look at your hands, those hands, reek of blood, blood and lust, blood and lust. Now, dear child, when did you caught it, when? No, you can’t answer me? Nothing else but repeats? Like a spoilt record? 

HATTIE

There, your flowers! Ah, here’s a wilted petal, just hang on, I’ll clip it off, won’t hurt a bit. 

JANE

Perhaps, sigh, perhaps its time for you to go? I know, this time I won’t be there, first and last. I can’t look at you, you know that for a fact do you? Sorry dear, but I can’t have you here, all the time, scrutinizing me, up-and-down, up-and-down. I can’t bear to leave you but I must, else it will never be anything but you-and-I, you-and-I. I…I…don’t know, I just can’t bring myself to. (tears flows down but face remains a poker) 

HATTIE

Ah, here’s you daisies. Water them, feed them with your tears, fortify them, with salt, with salt. Let them go wayward, wayward with the wind! 

JANE

Now that I’ve cried, are you happy? I see that you’re smiling, chuckling, laughing, hugging your tum with stitch! (She’s laughing, really laughing)


 

HATTIE

Here, ah, that’s you you know? That’s just you. 

JANE

HA-HA-HA-HA. Now its time to go, isn’t it? After the party, the party wisps in you cranium. Ah, you made me break so many rules, now its time you break YOU!(struggling under the weight of the mirror)

Here! (smattering glass bits) 

Act 3 Scene 1 

JANE

Roses are red

Violets are blue

I feel the end

Do you? 

I see you face, face in seven bits, seven pieces. Ah, five years now. Just two more and everything will be, I don’t know. There’s just so many voices now, there’s seven of you now! Go, go, go away, seven years, seven years. You can enter my play then. (takes a piece of glass and pushes into her palms) 

HATTIE

Roses are blue

Violets are sweet

Daisies are red

And so are you. 

